top of page

A Man's Job


Last night was one of the most frightening nights I have ever experienced. Had a fun time at a local club celebrating a friend's birthday. A sub and I decided to grab a bite together afterward. We met at a restaurant close to the club, a favorite haunt of our crowd. Usually, we are a large crowd and we sit in the same area every time close to the entrance. Many of us have experience working in the hospitality field and know large visible groups will dissuade a potential robber, they look for few witnesses. Last night was only two of us with only one other table of customers.

I am in Florida and it is hot even at night. At 3:15 am the perpetrator entered the restaurant wearing a hoodie, dark sunglasses, a bandana over his mouth, long pants, and gloves. He was so well covered, you could not see any exposed skin. His hands were in the hoodie's pockets. None of us could tell if it was just his hand in the hoodie or a firearm within those pockets. He yelled, "Give me the money". At first, we all thought it was a joke. Here is a man wearing far too many clothes for a hot humid Florida night. Yes, we thought it was a joke until he manhandled the sweet little waitress behind the register.

I quickly dropped my handbag below the table and sat very still. I did not want to give this animal any reason to attack me. By the time I looked back up, one of the cooks had run in and tacked the would-be robber. He did this without thought to his own safety. He saw a woman being abused and sprung into action. Within moments, two other male employees and the sub I was with joined in to subdue this moron. Law enforcement arrived in a timely fashion and the idiot was handcuffed and taken away. Other than a few bruises, no one was physically harmed. The robber did not have a weapon. We were fortunate.

When the first man was asked why he jumped in without forethought, he responded, "It is a man's duty to protect women". To protect and provide are duties men should do without thought. Some men can learn a lesson from the deeds of others.

I am still a little shaken up by the ordeal. I count my blessings that it had a positive outcome. I am glad chivalry is not dead. Subs would you have jumped in to protect?

Recent Posts

See All

New Year's Resolutions

Time to start making those resolutions. Set Realistic Goals Can it be done in steps? Create a plan. Break it down into clear steps....

Featured Posts
No posts published in this language yet
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page