top of page

Money


I enjoy many things that are considered nerdy. I was curious where the phrase "to pay through the nose" comes from. In 800 to 900 A.D, the Danes in Ireland would slit the nose of those who were remiss in paying the Danish poll tax. Which led me in finding an interesting documentary on one of my favorite subjects, money. While I work I will either have music or a documentary in the background.


This was the history of the use of capital, lucre, cash, lolly, bread, gelt, … I enjoyed watching the progress from a barter system to the use of electronics. From 9000 to 6000 BC livestock was used as a form of payment. Can you imagine a tribute of livestock? A whole new meaning of moolah.


Then they used shells. Easy to flood the market by picking up handfuls at the beach. Then around 1000 BC, you had your first metal coins. Pretty coins to pay for all one might desire. Personally, I enjoy tangible money. Playing in coins and bills. Counting wads of banknotes. I find it hot.


Even though I do enjoy hard cash, I love the speed at which an electronic transfer can fill up my account. Few things bring me as much pleasure as the cash register sound that indicates a deposit has been made into my account. Get to it pets and make that cash register sing. I will go back to more documentaries and looting.

Recent Posts

See All

New Year's Resolutions

Time to start making those resolutions. Set Realistic Goals Can it be done in steps? Create a plan. Break it down into clear steps....

Comments


Featured Posts
No posts published in this language yet
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page